Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Lost Country

William Gay

Regular price
$25.50
Regular price
Sale price
$25.50

"The language and the imagery Gay uses is so vividly haunting that I want to savor it all. It is definitely a must-read for fans of Southern Literature and I know we will have a lot of excitement around here for it."

- Catherine Bock, Parnassus Books

Ten years after it was first announced, Dzanc is proud to deliver the lost novel from a master of the Southern Gothic—the work William Gay fans have anticipated for a decade.

Billy Edgewater is a harbinger of doom. Estranged from his family, discharged from the Navy, and touched by a rising desperation, he sets out hitchhiking home to East Tennessee, where his father is slowly dying.

On the road, separately, are Sudy and Bradshaw, brother and sister, and a one-armed con man named Roosterfish. All, in one way or another, have their pasts and futures embroiled with D.L. Harkness, a predator in all the ways there are. Hounded at every turn by scams, vigilantes, grievous loss, and unspeakable violence, Edgewater navigates the long road home, searching for a place that may be nothing but memory.

Hailed as “a seemingly effortless storyteller” by theNew York Times Book Review and “a writer of striking talent” by theChicago Tribune, William Gay, with this long-awaited novel, secures his place alongside Faulkner, O’Connor, and McCarthy as one of the greatest novelists in the Southern Gothic tradition.