Skip to product information
1 of 1

Hildegard von Bingen: In the Heart of God

Hildegard Von Bingen

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price

A full reproduction of the medieval composer and visionary's final theological tract, illuminated shortly after her death

Between 1142 and 1174, the German mystic, composer and writer Hildegard von Bingen created three visionary books: Scivias (Know the Ways); Liber Vitae Meritorum (Book of the Rewards of Life); and Liber Divinorum Operum(Book of Divine Works). This latter work—reproduced in this sumptuous new volume—consists of a sequence of ten scenes that invites human beings to climb the road of virginitas toward the recomposition of their own selves in union with the divine caritas.
The refined miniatures in the Lucca manuscript—reproduced here with a simple key explaining their symbolic significance—were produced about 20 years after Hildegard’s death and provide a masterful illustration of the architecture of her vision. The dialogue with the images from her first work,
Scivias (published in Skira’s Hildegard von Bingen: A Journey into the Images) casts light on the unifying design that connects them.

Currently Out Of Stock

Submit your email and we'll send you a notification when Hildegard von Bingen: In the Heart of God is back in stock.